Eid for the Destitute

Eid is over and I am back in Islamabad. This Eid has different meanings to different people. For a normal Muslim, it is a religious and social day. We wear new clothes, say special prayers, socialize with friends and relatives. Some visit graveyard etc. For the kids there is more fun. New clothes, sweet food and “Eidi” which is the money everybody gives then. Later they sit and count whatever they collect and they spend it. So, everything is very festive on this day.

But what about the destitute ones. I met this woman in the park right in front of our house:

DSCF4354

You see no new clothes, no celebration, nothing. She is wandering around in the park with her two daughters hoping that someone will give her something in the spirit of the day. Imagine how the poor spend their lives. Can we help? Obviously through charity we can a little but not enough.

I just wanted the fortunate ones to remember the destitute ones at least on special days.

Oh, the second daughter:

DSCF4353

Tagged with: , , , , , , , , , ,
Posted in Culture, Kids, Photography, Portrait, Street Photography
33 comments on “Eid for the Destitute
  1. Hachege says:

    fantastic portrait
    fantastic B&W
    great job my friend
    πŸ™‚

  2. to remain in him says:

    Beautiful!

  3. Hari Qhuang says:

    Their eyes look so deep, like a bottomless well.
    There is something so beautiful and mystical about South East Asian people’s eyes.
    πŸ˜€

  4. SQ says:

    This is interesting that now you have started to see the world different from you camera lens.
    You just proved that a picture explains lot better than 1000000 words. Good job Brother.

    • Dr_IQ says:

      This blogging activity has actually changed my perspective. Contrast the kid in the photo with Nainish and you will feet the pain. I am already thinking like a professor.

  5. psychedelhi says:

    Doctor saab, I’ve been following your blog since the time I started blogging. don’t take this any other way, I find this post your best so far. The first portrait, the mother and child, I haven’t seen another picture in a long time that could touch me so much. Thank you.

    • Dr_IQ says:

      Thanks. The portrait actually conveys how I felt at that moment. I was surrounded by my nieces and nephews who were happy after a good photo session and suddenly I saw the contrast. I was touched.

  6. Joe says:

    Great photos and a very touching story, I really is sad in todays society that people are still falling through the cracks with no relief in sight.

  7. One cannot help but be touched by these images and your words.

  8. Ajaytao2010 says:

    I Nominated you for A Bunch of Awards – 13 Nominations

    please choose any 2 awards out of the 13
    accept it and oblige

    there are no linkbacks for this award

    http://ajaytao2010.wordpress.com/2013/08/13/a-bunch-of-awards-13-nominations/

  9. Arpan says:

    I just cannot get over the eyes of the woman. There is “something” that compels you to think about her once you’ve seen the photograph…don’t know what…this is photography in in its purest form.

  10. awarewriter says:

    Lovely images — it’s the eyes!

  11. themofman says:

    Yes, those of us who have enough or more than enough to get by must be very thankful, and ought to think of those who go without. Even better, continue to think of ways of overcoming the worldwide problems of poverty and hunger. There isn’t a nation or society on this earth that doesn’t have the disadvantaged.

    Thank you, Dr. IQ.

  12. These are very strong portraits. I love that they are in black and white. P.S. thanks for viewing and liking my post today, I really appreciate the feedback, Rob

  13. great post …thanks for sharing.

Leave a Reply

