Historical importance of 9/11 for Pakistan

Today, I read many posts regarding 9/11 on WordPress.  As you may know, in the after math of this tragic incident, Pakistan is among the most affected countries. The date 9/11, however, have been important for Pakistan for decades on two accounts.

9/11 as 11th of September:  Muhammad Ali Jinnah, the founder of Pakistan died on this date back in 1948, a year after Pakistan appeared on the map. It used to be a national holiday in Pakistan.

9/11 as 9th of November:  This is how we write dates by the way.  Muhammad Iqbal was a poet and thinker and gave the idea of a separate homeland for the Muslims of India. He is considered National poet of Pakistan and was born on 9th of November. It is a national holiday in Pakistan.

(Incidentally, 9th of November is also the birthday of my daughter.)

I thought I would share.

Tagged with: , ,
Posted in Culture, History
3 comments on “Historical importance of 9/11 for Pakistan
  1. Joe says:

    Very good post. I think one of the biggest problems facing the world today is a misunderstanding about the Muslim religion. As I said in one of my responses to a fellow bloggers post some of my closest friends are Muslim and they denounce any sort of violence and having read the Quran myself I can honestly say they are sincere.

  2. Dr_IQ says:

    Thanks for a great response Joe. I wish more people are that accommodating and understanding.

  3. Joe says:

    I wish that also, thank you.

Leave a Reply

