Kipon Fail

I had ordered Zeiss ZM 21mm f/4.5 lens and a Kipon adapter to mount the lens on my Fuji X-E1 camera. After much waiting and dreaming, today I received the goods. The items were bought in China by a friend of mine. Well, the adapter failed. I am not able to mont the lens on the adapter. The adapter fits the camera though. I align the blue dot on the lens with the pin position on the adapter. It is the only position the lens will fit. But when rotating to lock, it stops half way before the pin engages. I think the pin is at the right place. Just the lens does not rotate eough.

Hard luck. Victim of the Chinese quality control? And this is from Kipon which is supposed to be a good company.

Anybody experienced a similar problem?

What do I do till a new adapter comes? Dream more? Scream?

 

Tagged with: , , ,
Posted in Photography
8 comments on “Kipon Fail
  1. Iksa says:

    Just wait for the new one to come …

  2. Vicki (from Victoria A Photography) says:

    Sorry to hear that Dr_IQ.
    I guess you’ve just got to wait. But I know what it feels like when you’re waiting for a new camera part.

    I ordered, (finally, after 3 years), a ring flash to use with my Macro lens for flower photography and it’s on backorder. Hopefully it will arrive in the city camera store within a fortnight or so.

    • Dr_IQ says:

      Thanks for consolation Vicki. Living in Pakistan means that I cannot get these things from stores, I cannot order from ebay etc. My only chance is if some friend or I go abroad.
      I will have to wait.

  3. Son of Sharecroppers says:

    I “liked” this post, but really I mean only to sympathize. I’m sorry that you had this problem. I hope that you can get a good adapter!

    • Dr_IQ says:

      Thanks for the kind words. I also find it difficult to ‘like’ a post about some sort of mishap. Well it does force me to comment and express my response.

  4. Vassilis says:

    Patience my friend. If you buy the original adapter you will have to pay more than 20 times the amount. Anyway, once in a while things happen with chinese products, but the price makes up for it in the end. Take photos with the other equipment you have!

Leave a Reply

