Fish Market & Seller

This is a shot of a fish market in Saba, Malaysia.

DSC_5493p1

The color version high light the fish being displayed.

But a conversion to B & W makes the seller the main subject.

DSC_5493p2

I like the transformation. What do think?

Tagged with: , , , , , , , , , ,
Posted in Photography, Portrait, Street Photography, Travel
16 comments on “Fish Market & Seller
  1. Yes I understand that light draws your eye but I prefer color over B&W.

  2. Iksa says:

    I agree with you … in the BW we are more focused to the object

  3. Carissa says:

    I prefer the black and white as well.

  4. neihtn2012 says:

    The colors are a little bit oversaturated, but when you converted to monochrome that disappeared and made the photo easier to look at.

  5. Vicki (from Victoria A Photography) says:

    I like both versions (surprising for me as I usually pick one over the other), but the B & W does draw the lady seller on the right out more in the frame.

    In this case, I think it depends what you want to portray to the viewer…….a fish market scene(better in colour), or draw the viewer’s eye to one specific fish seller (better in B & W).

    I usually prefer street photography in B & W.

    • Dr_IQ says:

      Thanks Vicki. The photo was originally taken as a street scene and hence I processed it to emphasize fish. However, as a reflex I converted it to B & W and liked the shift.

  6. Yes, I prefer the B and W.

  7. It’s taken at a marketplace which are full of colour. I prefer the colour image.

  8. candide57 says:

    first one for me! 😛
    nice colors!!!

Leave a Reply

