A desperate beggar

My son asks me daily,’Baba (father), have you posted baba (old man)’. So here it goes.

Saw this old man in the road side market.

DSCF5876p

He looked like a beggar. After few minutes found him sitting.

DSCF5877p

It was a fantastic shot and I could not miss it. He was either tired or sick or just desperate.

Two shots later:

DSCF5880p

Although his face is not clear in the photos, I did not ask for a posed shot on purpose. He represents a large number of old people who are forced to beg by and in this society we live in.

 

Shot with Fuji X-E1, Zeiss ZM 21/4.5 lens. Post processed.

Tagged with: , , , , , , , , , ,
Posted in Culture, Street Photography
10 comments on “A desperate beggar
  1. mc812 says:

    Reblogged this on MONSTER MEDIUM.

  2. kiwiskan says:

    Very sad. There is too much inequality in this world

  3. kiwiskan says:

    I hope you were able to help him…

  4. Vassilis says:

    Isn’t it strange how we have managed to monetarize every single aspect of our lives? Many years ago, old people were taken care of, by the local communities if they didn’t have families. They provided a shelter, daily food, clothing, some times tobacco and above all the dignity of being useful by offering voluntarily minor help to a variety of public tasks…

    • Dr_IQ says:

      A lot of these families values are still intact in Pakistan. Few will resort to begging because there is no body to take care of them. Those who beg, and there are a lot of them, will do it as a profession. I am not sure about this old man. ‘Homeless’ people are not common in Pakistan.

  5. Son of Sharecroppers says:

    Well, I’m going back through, and I see another post that I “liked” before. I thought that I had commented on this one, but I see that I hadn’t. This is a great series of photos.

    • Dr_IQ says:

      Thanks for the kind words. The street never disappoints me. I always get some good shots every time I am out with a camera. but getting out is the key word here.

Leave a Reply

