Lal Peri

Sequel to my last post, here is another shot of the transport vehicles:

DSCF6760rs

This deserved a separate post and in color.

Notice something written in Urdu. It says ‘Lal Peri’.

DSCF6760crop

Lal means red and Peri means something with Pers that is with wings. So, Peri would be a Fairy. Just as people name their boats after their loved ones, this man has named his small pick up as ‘Red Fairy’. He would keep it very clean and shiny and decorate it with what ever way he thinks is fit for his Peri.

Next, please notice a rubber shoe (actually a chappal) hanging near the right wheel.

DSCF6760crop2

Now, this is culture. Traditionally people think that if something or somebody is too beautiful, others look at it with greed/envy or jealousy. Like an Evil Eye. So, they will degrade the beauty by making it a bit ugly. Kids would be smeared with a black spot on the cheek. They would hang a horse shoe or just a shoe to act as Eye Sore. I think they do not consider this as a Talisman. Just an Eye Sore.

In a broader sense, people respect their place of their work and the tools they use to earn a living. They can become very emotional and sensitive about these practices.

I am sure many can relate to this sort of superstition.

Enjoy. Short taken with Fuji X-E1 and Zeiss 21/4.5 lens.

Tagged with: , , , , , , , , , , ,
Posted in Culture, Street Photography
8 comments on “Lal Peri
  1. I like how you explain your picture. This is real documentation.

  2. Vicki says:

    I love the sharp focus on your images on your blog – I know it is the photographer (i.e. yourself) that takes the photo and has a steady hand, but I think that camera and lens you’re using must be particularly good also. Probably has a high megapixel count?

    My first camera body was 15 mps. My newer camera body has 18mps and I can really notice the difference with the extra 3 mps.

    • Dr_IQ says:

      Thanks Vicki for the complement. There are several factors which play a role in getting sharp pictures.

      The first would be the photographer and the last would be the camera body. MP count is only important if you plan to crop the images heavily. Most of my travel (and older) photos you see were shot with a 6 MP Nikon D40. Currently I am using 16.3MP Fuji X-E1.

      For street type of work:
      I close the aperture to around f/8 and fix the shutter speed to a minimum of 1/200 even at the expense of ISO. This gives me enough depth of field and little chance of camera shake.

      At apertures of about f/8, all reasonable lenses are sharp enough.

      Then is the focusing. It should be spot on. For quick street shots, f/8 does gives me a margin of error though.

      For portraits and family photos, I use shallow depth of field, fast shutter speed. Focusing is critical here.

      Lens: I mostly use prime lenses. I only have one zoom kit lens for Nikon D40 and no zoom lens for Fuji X-E1. Lenses do differ in contrast, resolution and color fidelity. My Zeiss, for example, is very sharp, contrasty and renders excellent colors. My Minolta lenses render painterly. Nikon lenses are also sharp.

      I hope I have confused you at a higher level.

  3. Son of Sharecroppers says:

    Great photos, and I really like learning about the notion of imperfection. I have heard much the same thing in regard to Persian rugs and some U.S. quilting traditions. One blog suggests that the myth of Arachne is an old version of this notion of not being too perfect.

    I think that I shall adopt this explanation for my errors in my work . . .

Leave a Reply

