as the days get COLDER we get HOTTER

P1020508p

I am an old time fan of Dunkin’ Donuts coffee. There are but a few of these shops in Pakistan. Most are housed in small places like the one shown above and are only ‘take away’ type. Whenever we are in the area shopping, I make sure to enjoy the great coffee.

Tagged with: , , , , , ,
Posted in Street Photography
14 comments on “as the days get COLDER we get HOTTER
  1. Well what a surprise to see Dunkin’ Donuts in Pakistan but why not. They are all over the world except on the west coast of the U.S.

    • Dr_IQ says:

      Pakistan get her share of franchise business. Most popular are KFC and McDonald’s. They are expensive though. I have seen one Burger King, few Hardee’s, few Subways etc.

  2. BookOfBokeh says:

    I live in the middle of Dunkin Donuts Central…we have on eon every corner in the Northeast US, but I have to say that their charm is lost on me. Any Starbucks in Pakistan?

  3. Dr_IQ says:

    There is no Starbucks in Islamabad. May be one or two in Lahore and Karachi. Traditionally, we are tea drinkers and not coffee drinkers. It is therefore difficult for a coffee exclusive franchise to survive.

  4. Afotero says:

    In Spain Dunkin’ Donuts are called Dunkin’ Coffee because a Spanish Company already owned “Donuts” as a trademark.

  5. Vicki says:

    I can well appreciate your love of a good cup of coffee.

    I have just one cup of rich Italian espresso every morning and love every mouthful. (the rest of the time I drink herbal tea or water). I detest ‘instant’ coffee out of a jar.

    • Dr_IQ says:

      For the majority in Pakistan, coffee means instant coffee. In winter, I do use my coffee machine to brew. Interestingly, Dunkin Donuts sells coffee beans which one has to grind oneself.

  6. Mike Pratt says:

    I suppose it was bound to happen! It’s interesting to see these franchises popping up all over the world and in places we might not expect. I don’t think there are many Duncan Donuts here in Canada…at least none that I’ve seen.

    • Dr_IQ says:

      Thanks Mike. There must be some other franchise popular in Canada. I also see other exclusive coffee shops in some of the big shopping malls here.

  7. archecotech says:

    The long arm of American influence, so do people there really like them? They are almost all gone in the states as far as I know.

    • Dr_IQ says:

      Coffee is not a beverage of the masses here. We are tea drinkers and prefer to take tea at our homes and work places. So, exclusive coffee shops are few. Dunkin Donuts is surviving somehow. I personally like there coffee.

  8. Sam says:

    Very cool to see Dunkin’ Donuts in Pakistan!

Leave a Reply

