Jumma Bazaar (10 images)

That is ‘Friday Bazaar’. Throughout Pakistan, in every city, the city administration arranges weekly bazaars where things are sold at cheaper rates. The one near my house opens on Fridays and today I decided to accompany my wife. Here are a few shots of the bazaar.

The entrance:

DSCF9217

A board tells the shoppers that this bazaar is arranged by the city admin and also today’s rates are displayed.

The place has two main sections; vegetables and fruits.

The vegetables section:

DSCF9187

DSCF9185

DSCF9186

and

DSCF9201

Few shots from the fruits section:

DSCF9183

DSCF9194

Water melons:

DSCF9192

Mangoes:

DSCF9191

Is was hot:

DSCF9190

In the following days I will post more.

Enjoy,

All photos taken with Fuji X-E1 and Zeiss ZM 21/4.5 lens.

Tagged with: , , , , , , , , ,
Posted in Culture, Street Photography
12 comments on “Jumma Bazaar (10 images)
  1. This bazaar looks like a wonderful place to continue to do color studies and catch people in the midst of shopping. Maybe you can ask some of the merchants to pose or to agree to have their picture taken while selling. This could lead to an interesting photo exhibition with the city administration sponsoring it. It would be a great way to promote the bazaar and get you recognized as a photographer. Go for it.
    Also I like the last image with the merchant and customer. The picture of the mangos reminds me of how much a love their taste.

    • Dr_IQ says:

      Thanks Tim. I do have few more candid and posed shots which I will post. I am sure many newspapers have covered these bazaars. I will see what I can do.
      Thanks for the interest.

      • You’re welcome and I look forward to the announcement of your exhibition. By the way your exhibition could have a strong human interest approach much more than a newspaper would do.

  2. Paradise for a vegetarian like myself! 🙂

  3. Vicki says:

    What a wonderful array of colours and activity. Great photos.
    I’ll look forward to seeing some more.

  4. Straight from the farmers means super fresh!

    • Dr_IQ says:

      Thanks.
      Although the vegs and fruits are super fresh, people tend to buy more than they can consume in a week and end up eating less than fresh vegetables during the week. But the activity is great.

Leave a Reply

