Jumma Bazaar…Done

Ok. This is the last post in the series ‘Jumma Bazaar. After sopping when we were in the parking area, I met these two persons.

The following old man approached and was quite interested in the camera and what I was doing with it. But turned out to be camera shy:

DSCF9221p

I kept on chatting and he relaxed:

DSCF9222p

He was quite down to earth. Did not beg and was just interested in the camera. I just loved his attitude.

 

He was interested because I was photographing this kid:

DSCF9218p

He is a school going kid and sells small prayer books out side the Jumma Bazaar Venue;

DSCF9220p

The kid gained a lot of respect in my eyes. Because of timings, he comes every Friday right after school to make a living. On normal days, he probably sells in the main shopping area.

DSCF9219p

I was very happy to meet the two at the end. I hope you enjoy also.

Tagged with: , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,
Posted in Culture, Photography, Portrait, Street Photography
10 comments on “Jumma Bazaar…Done
  1. Son of Sharecroppers says:

    Wonderful photos. I’m quite taken with the first image of the elderly man.

  2. Very nice portraits. I agree with Son of Sharecroppers. I also like the second one where you see his full face rather than the hands. Shooting at the time of day it appears you have deep shadows on the faces of your subjects. Although I like the strong contrast, have you considered using a flash as a fill? This might give more light to the shadowed areas. You could try one shot without the flash and one with a see how you like each.

    • Dr_IQ says:

      Thanks Tim. It was too hot out in the open. I am aware of the fill flash technique but I am not used to apply it. I will give it a try next time. I should have looked for a shaded area.
      Thanks again for the suggestion.

      • I truly like the high contrast that come from shooting during mid day. It can be much more interesting that a flat subject. Your subjects seem to be growing in their willingness to be photographed by you. I remember an earlier reluctance by you to photograph people on the street – not now – great improvements – I really enjoy these images and the documentation that you have with them.

  3. Dr_IQ says:

    Thanks. If only I could go out that often.

  4. 1davidstella says:

    Very nice series on the slices of life at the bazaar.I am inspired enough to re-visit the weekly markets here! Thanks for the informative writing, too.

    • Dr_IQ says:

      Thanks David. I have been to Kota Kinabalu and know that you can have good time at the local market. Please do post some fresh shots.

  5. BookOfBokeh says:

    I love your photography, obviously. But I also love your running commentary–especially in this most recent series–and a view into a world I’ll probably never get to see, and even if I got to be there to see, would not be able to get the same quality of access as you do. Thank you so much for this journey!

    • Dr_IQ says:

      Thanks and you are welcome. I am glad that you like the blog. I do my best to show normal daily life around here and not just the cliche shots. I have learned to be candid in the commentary.
      That again for the kind words.

Leave a Reply

