New Toy

Got a new toy:
DSCF9689

Got to learn the new interface. At least I got GIMP installed and working.

Tagged with: , , , ,
Posted in Photography
14 comments on “New Toy
  1. Congratulations. An excellent purchase.

  2. Joe says:

    Congratulations, after about 2 months of using the Mac you will wonder why you waited so long. Have a great day 🙂

    • Dr_IQ says:

      Thanks Joe. I am already enjoying it. I once read a book about Linux and the first page had a message: “If your application is Mission Critical, would you trust Windows”. But, like many others, I am slow to convert.

      • Joe says:

        Linux is very similar to the Mac OS. I assume you are running Mavericks ? Good luck with your new toy and welcome to the club 🙂

  3. Like the new toy – I got one 16 months ago and am still learning. MM 🍀

  4. Vicki says:

    Congratulations on the new toy.

    You’re going to love it. I’ve had an Apple Mac for 18 months now and I can’t believe how I ever stayed on my old Windows Desktop for so long (which kept crashing). Of course I have a Mac Pro combined with a 27″ high resolution monitor (so I can unplug the little laptop and take it away with me……not that I go away that much, but I’m still glad I bought it as the Mac Pro has a slot for a CD Rom or DVD).

    My Dell high resolution screen is matte in appearance (which I prefer to a glossy Apple screen though). Had to buy a new keyboard (which I have on the pull-out section of my desk) yesterday as I spilt some water on it a couple of months ago and ‘fried’ a few keys. I was a typist and accounts person in my working life so am used to a full keyboard set at waist level.

    With the glossy Mac screen, one needs to be careful of your light source in the room as the reflection on the screen can make photo reviewing and editing harder.

    Many reviews I read on the internet talk about this annoying facet of the Apple screen and I’m not the only person who wish Apple would bring out a matte screen.

    The best part about the Mac is that I bought it, set it up, linked printers (2 diff – laser & photo) and scanner and starting working in 24 hours. Since I’m technology challenged, I thought that was pretty impressive in itself. That says a lot about how intuitive Apple products are. Mind you I haven’t learned all the functions but it does my photography, gmail & word processing perfectly as it is. 99% of the time I only use a few simple post processing adjustments in the iPhoto software (and don’t bother with any of my old photo editing software).

    I’ve only had one really bad crash and that was one time when I did an Apple software update and for some weird reason it ‘crashed’ the computer. I’ve done many other Apple software updates and it hasn’t affected it at all. I also have an Apple Time Machine (backup) linked wirelessly on the other side of the room (which was worth the money).

    • Dr_IQ says:

      Thanks Vicki for taking your time to comment. I guess one can adjust the relative position of the system, in the room, in such a way so as to minimize the reflection issue. Right now I am just excited to play with the new interface. The main usage would be internet, photo editing as well as blogging. I will have to find a way (spend some money) to use MS word and Matlab. The rest of the faculty and students are using Microsoft products.
      Wish me good luck.

      • Vicki says:

        Yes, good luck, certainly. Nothing like a new ‘toy’ to get us excited.

        (I also bought MS Office and 3 yrs Norton anti-virus software at the same time. i am exceptionally pleased with both.)

  5. BookOfBokeh says:

    I would love to hear your opinion of Gimp when you have had more experience with it, please.

  6. Mike Pratt says:

    Congrats on the new computer! The Apple screens are quite nice for photography. As for GIMP, I recall using it years ago. I would recommend Adobe Creative Cloud as an alternative…of course it is subscription based.

Leave a Reply

