Still Life

A still life shot of our dining table.
DSCF9723 2

The flowers are artificial. I like how the colors came out.

A straight forward conversion with, I think, yellow filter:
DSCF9723 2 copy

I like the low contrast and the subtle and soft beauty in the shot.

But then the sliders are free:
DSCF9723 2 copy 2

Which one do you like?

Tagged with: , , , , , , , , , , , ,
Posted in Photography
11 comments on “Still Life
  1. Rajiv says:

    I like the composition

  2. Of the two BW’s I like the low contrast one the best, but of the three I like the color shot the best. Your table arrangement has very pleasing colors.

    • Dr_IQ says:

      Thanks Cornelis. My preference is the same as yours. Like this Sonnar rendering and color it gives. As for the arrangement of the table, well the credit has been conveyed to the lady of the house.

  3. Vicki says:

    I like the colour shot the best but the yellow filter comes a close second.

  4. neihtn2012 says:

    The third one is not bad!

    • Dr_IQ says:

      Thanks Neihtn. I do like to try different treatments and also tend to go be aggressive in B&W post processing. Sometimes I like the outcome where as at other time I do like the original subtle tones.

  5. Cteavin says:

    I’m teaching myself how to do black and white, at the moment. Of the three I like the color. Why? The third one has a lot of contrast but white dominates, so my eye doesn’t know where to go. That’s just me. I’ve been thinking a lot about monochrome lately. I really love the effect.

    Nice work, btw. I love macro, but there is no way I’m getting that close to a bee. 🙂

Leave a Reply

