What kind of coffee you like?

Now a days I am trying different ways to make a good cup of coffee. I use Maxwell ground coffee in a drip machine at office. At home, I grind beans fresh and:
1. Brew in a drip machine or
2. Use a French Press or
3. Just pour hot water in the cup, give it a few minutes and decant.

But the best I like is cold water brew. Grind a table spoon of beans, put in a pewter, add required amount of cold water, put the lid on and just leave the pot in the cupboard. Next day, after 20-24 hrs, just decant the coffee and drink at the room temperature.

If you have not tried this, please do. You are bound to like it.

What type you find the best?

Tagged with: , ,
Posted in Uncategorized
27 comments on “What kind of coffee you like?
  1. beyondlisbon says:

    In Portugal we love drinking coffee! 🙂 Me, for example, I use a moka pot (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Moka_pot) to make coffee for weekend breakfasts (usually mixed with a little milk). However I also have a small espresso machine (similar to this one: http://www.controlinveste.pt/montradenatal/images/produtos/worten/delta_qosmo_01_lightbox.jpg) because espresso just tastes different. Some people also like to drink a kind of soluble ground coffee that you mix, in the cup, with hot water. I’ll try your cold water method. I’m supposing it will have a strong taste, right?

    • Dr_IQ says:

      The kind of soluble coffee (instant coffee) is popular in Pakistan. Very few would know about ground coffee or beans.
      The cold water brew is very smooth and strength depends upon the quantity. A table spoon full of beans should be good for two tea cups or one coffee mug. A little stronger tastes good when cold though.

    • Dr_IQ says:

      I will try to find a Mocha pot in Islamabad. Sounds good.

  2. hi dr iq,
    i am a coffee dummy 😦 , i will usually order a coffee of the day with milk at starbucks.
    best regards,
    ken

  3. theirdialogue says:

    Thanks for the tips! I’ve learned to like my coffee black since I can’t have dairy. I’ll be trying the cold water brew soon; sounds great.

  4. I am also a coffee dummy. I use a Keurig and those mini cup thingys lol.

  5. Emilio Pasquale says:

    Ah, don’t get me started. In my mind, any mass market coffee is of an inferior quality. Cheaper roasting beans are used, which translates to a more acidic brew. Buy only bulk 100% arabica beans- which look darker and have more oil, but make a smoother cup of coffee. Grind your beans just before brewing and store them in a dark coffee cannister away from light or heat. Never refrigerate or freeze. Cold brewing is definitely the best. I used to drink it black but have lately been drinking my coffee blended with (here it comes) butter from grass fed cows. 16 ounces of brewed coffee to 2 tablespoons butter, blended with an immersion blender. Because it is winter, I have been brewing in a drip coffee maker with the butter already in the pot so it melts from the heat. Try it some time. You will never enjoy a smoother cup of coffee. And the butter has a higher concentration of good fat to curb your appetite!

    • Dr_IQ says:

      Very buttery comment Emilio. I will try home made butter. I buy coffee beans supplied by big coffee shops like Dunkin donuts, Starbucks, Two Cups etc. Beans are not available here otherwise.

  6. Vicki says:

    I dislike instant coffee intensely and don’t like milk. Rather than paying for expensive beans and grinding (when I only drink 1-2 cups of lack espresso first thing in the morning), we have a thing called coffee bags here in Australia. It’s a mixture of freshly ground beans and instant, but tastes and smells like freshly ground coffee.

    I only like Robert Timms Italian expresso coffee bags. One bag is usually enough for 2 medium cups or 1 strong large mug full – the convenience of bags stored in foil sachets can be used when travelling too.

    (The rest of the time I drink organic chamomile tea or water).

    • Dr_IQ says:

      Vicki, you guys are lucky to have a variety of tea and coffee flavors. We are stuck with Instant coffee and black tea. But now a days I am able to get coffee beans. So when not experimenting with photography, I tried these coffee experiments.

      • Vicki says:

        Yes, we are lucky in so many different ways.

        We have all the traditional English teas, as well as all the Asian ones, but the multitude of herbal teas is just amazing.
        We have so many different coffee beans from all over the world, that every palate is well taken care of.

        I think that’s one of the most wonderful aspects of Australian life. We are so multicultural with every type of food from around the world as well as an amazing array of restaurants. Unfortunately, I can’t afford to eat out nowadays, but then I’m a pretty good cook anyway.

  7. Sam says:

    I love coffee, thanks for this tip, have not tried it! Nice to see you posting again 🙂

  8. Thanks for the coffee recommendation! I am going to give it a ‘shot’ 😉

  9. Cold brew sounds interesting! Never tried that.

  10. Son of Sharecroppers says:

    I’ve heard of cold-water brewing, but haven’t tried it. I will! We use a drip coffee maker with a paper cone–and we put in lots of coffee. My wife and I like it very dark. Some people say Starbucks burns its beans–but we like the strong, almost bitter flavor.

  11. newsferret says:

    Thanks, will try your suggestion with the cold coffee.

Leave a comment